Foundation Connections

graphical divider

NBCC Foundation Congratulates 2020 Scholarship Recipients

Published 12/4/2020


The NBCC Foundation is pleased to announce the 2020 recipients of the annual military, rural, and research scholarships. NBCC Foundation military and rural scholarships provide financial support to master’s-level counseling students who are committed to serving in their communities for a minimum of two years after graduation.  

The Dr. Nicholas A. Vacc Scholarship, endowed in memory of beloved professor and influential counseling advocate Dr. Nicholas Vacc, is awarded to a doctoral-level counseling student who is focused on research and/or testing that strengthens the field of counseling and is a member of Chi Sigma Iota.  

Since 2010, the NBCC Foundation has awarded over $860,000 to over 200 counseling students working to provide effective, culturally competent services to underserved populations. Each scholar will receive funds to support their education as well as training, mentorship, and professional development services.  

The NBCC Foundation military and rural scholarships are made possible by the generosity of donor support. This year, the NBCC Foundation is awarding five $8,000 rural scholarships and six $8,000 military scholarships. The sixth military scholar is also named the 2020 Family First scholar. The Family First scholarship, first awarded in 2016, is fully funded by donations received from NBCC and Affiliates staff and board members and is awarded to a scholar serving in North Carolina.  

Congratulations to our 2020 NBCC Foundation Scholars! 

2020 Military Scholars

Jordan Bogenrief, South Dakota State University 

Britney Newman, University of Central Missouri 

Dionne Phillips, Family First Scholar, North Carolina A&T State University 

Charles Stoddard, Waynesburg University 

Aaron Temple, University of Wyoming 

Jeffrey Turk, Husson University 


2020 Rural Scholars

Bryce Barrett, University of North Georgia 

D’Amani Bowman, Rider University 

Allie Foy, Plymouth State University

Kimberly Haney, Plymouth State University 

Andrew McGinn, Bradley University 

Brandon Wilcher, Georgia Southern University 


2020 Dr. Nicholas A. Vacc Scholar

Ahou Line, University of North Texas 

Read more articles »

Share Article