Foundation Connections

graphical divider

NBCC Foundation Congratulates 2020 Minority Fellowship Program Recipients

Published 4/21/2020


The NBCC Foundation is pleased to announce the 2020 fellowship recipients for the National Board for Certified Counselors Minority Fellowship Program (MFP). Ninety-one fellows were selected from nearly 400 applicants to represent three cohorts of fellows: master’s-level mental health counseling, doctoral-level mental health counseling, and master's-level addictions counseling 

The goals of the program are to strengthen the infrastructure that engages diverse individuals in counseling and increase the number of professional counselors providing effective, culturally competent services to underserved and never-served populations. Each fellow will receive funds to support their education as well as training, mentorship, and professional development services.  

The NBCC MFP is made possible by a grant awarded to the NBCC Foundation by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and the NBCC Foundation also collaborates with NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, to administer the addictions counseling fellowship program.  

Congratulations to our 2020 MFP Fellows! 

2020 MFP Master’s Mental Health Counseling  

  • Hannah BangsNortheastern Illinois University 
  • Ash Bayer, University of New Orleans 
  • Brianna Berry, Clark Atlanta University 
  • Bradford Bethea, Walden University 
  • Monika Cabrera, University of Arizona 
  • Aimee Christensen, Northwest Nazarene University 
  • Hangatu Dawud, Seattle University 
  • Michael Dyson, North Carolina Central University 
  • Joel Gopurathingal, Boston University School of Medicine 
  • Destini Highsmith, University of St. Joseph 
  • Sahaj Kohli, George Washington University 
  • Shanika McKoy, University of St. Joseph 
  • Sidney Minor, Mercer University 
  • Luz Miranda, Northwestern University 
  • Griffin Nielson-Smith, Portland State University 
  • Shalom Parker, Adler University 
  • Michelle Phillips, Seattle University 
  • Tori Press, Louisiana State University 
  • Leslie Preveaux, Mercer University 
  • Chanale Propst, East Carolina University 
  • Hailey Robertson, University of the Cumberlands 
  • Jairo Robles Morales, Middle Tennessee State University 
  • Patricia Saye, Louisiana State University 
  • Hope Swearingen, Denver Seminary 
  • Claire Tam, Lewis & Clark College 
  • Ángela Vásquez VásquezPortland State University 
  • Millie Villafane, Liberty University 
  • Anna Walters, Northwestern University 
  • Kimberley Warnecke, George Fox University 
  • Tony Yang, Winona State University 


2020 MFP Doctoral Mental Health Counseling 

  • Daniel Cisneros, Oregon State University 
  • Shanelle Clay, Duquesne University 
  • Jamian Coleman, Georgia State University 
  • Desa Daniel, University of New Mexico 
  • Danna Demezier, Florida Atlantic University 
  • Kirsis Dipre, Syracuse University 
  • Stephanie Dorais, William & Mary 
  • Kierrah Flipping, Capella University 
  • Marcus Folkes, University of the Cumberlands 
  • Marquita Garrett, Walden University 
  • Lisa Hanks, University of the Cumberlands 
  • Kiersten Hawes, University of Memphis 
  • Asha Moses, Walden University 
  • Rhemma Payne, Walden University 
  • Brittany Prioleau, University of North Carolina at Charlotte 
  • PaQuita Pullen, Trevecca Nazarene University 
  • Ashlei Rabess, Georgia State University 
  • Sunny Teeling, University of North Texas 
  • Gerardo Wence-Munoz, University of the Cumberlands 
  • Dwayne White, Auburn University 


2020 MFP Addictions Counseling

  • Fiona AbramsAppalachian State University
  • Emma Beale, The University of Toledo
  • Kathleen Becker, University of Denver
  • Phylicia Boles, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Clarence Bumpas, Colorado Christian University
  • Jessie Butler, Appalachian State University
  • Ofelia Chapa, Southern Methodist University
  • Olivia Corallo, East Carolina University
  • Isaac Dieterman, Central Michigan University
  • Kirah Doerr, Purdue Global
  • Lisa Eckles, Antioch University
  • James Fox, Colorado State University
  • Jillian Grant, North Carolina Central University
  • Margaret Green, East Carolina University
  • Tiffany Harris-Moyer, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Kadeedra Harrison, Drexel University
  • Fardowsa Hassan, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
  • Jasmine Idrogo, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Samona Johnson, John Carroll University
  • Achovia Jones, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Ebrahim Mansaray, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Katherine Miller, Capella University
  • Brandi Moore, Coppin State University
  • Heather Moser, University of Mary
  • Chanell Nash, Texas Tech University Health Science Center
  • Elzetter Norris, University of North Carolina at Pembroke
  • Margarita O'Neal, Walden University
  • Unique Pelletier, Johnson and Wales University
  • Hillary Reed, The College of William & Mary
  • Andrea Rivera, Universidad Central del Caribe
  • Ebony Robinson, East Carolina University
  • Darlene Rogan, University of South Dakota
  • Melissa Rozmiarek, University of Minnesota
  • Tiran Sahar, Lewis and Clark School of Counseling and Education
  • Jakara Scurry, North Carolina Central University
  • Jesenia Sosa, Universidad Central del Caribe
  • Tesa Tapuriah, Ottawa University
  • Heather Wagoner, Colorado Christian University
  • Curtis Warren, Coppin State University
  • Taylor Watson, John Carroll University
  • Conor Yeomans, The College of William & Mary

Read more articles »

Share Article