Foundation Connections

graphical divider

Congrats to 2022 Minority Fellowship Program Fellows!

Published 5/10/2022


The NBCC Foundation is pleased to announce the 2022 fellowship recipients for the National Board for Certified Counselors Minority Fellowship Program (MFP). One hundred and thirteen fellows were selected from over 540 applicants to represent three cohorts of fellows: master’s-level mental health counseling, doctoral-level mental health counseling, and master's-level addictions counseling.

The goals of the program are to strengthen the infrastructure that engages diverse individuals in counseling and increase the number of professional counselors providing effective, culturally competent services to underserved and never-served populations. Each fellow will receive funds to support their education as well as training, mentorship, and professional development services.

Because of additional funding granted to the NBCC Foundation, this year’s cohorts total 113 fellows, 23 more than previous years. This marks the largest year of MFP fellows since NBCC was awarded the MFP grant in 2012. Since NBCC began the counseling MFP with the first cohort in 2013, there have been 792 MFP counseling fellows awarded and a total of over $10.8 million invested in the educational support, training, and development of mental health counselors, addictions counselors, and counselor educators.

The NBCC MFP is made possible by a grant awarded to the NBCC Foundation by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and the NBCC Foundation also collaborates with NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, to administer the addictions counseling fellowship program.

Congratulations to our 2022 MFP Fellows!  

2022 MFP Doctoral Mental Health Counseling 

  • Jamal Boudion, University of Holy Cross 
  • Carlos Jesus Castañeda Jr., Texas Tech University 
  • Nkenji Clarke, The Pennsylvania State University 
  • Kashon Corley, University of the Cumberlands
  • Ashley Davis, Pace University
  • Sravya Gummaluri, The George Washington University
  • Jodi Jarrett, University of North Texas
  • Chulyndria Laye, University of Arkansas
  • Harley Locklear, North Carolina State University
  • Jorge Lopez, Idaho State University
  • Hailey Morris, University of North Texas
  • Lien Nguyen, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi 
  • Mónica María Phelps-Pineda, University of Missouri - St. Louis
  • Javier Ponce, Florida Atlantic University
  • Zonovia Proctor, University of Central Florida
  • Avery Rosser, University of Georgia 
  • Afroze Shaikh, Georgia State University
  • Sunanda Sharma, Montclair State University 
  • Helen Starkweather, The George Washington University
  • Jennifer Stover, Sam Houston State University
  • Alonzo Turner, Syracuse University
  • Krystal Turner, University of North Texas
  • Rebecca Werts, University of North Texas 


2022 MFP Master’s Mental Health Counseling   

  • Mabel Amara, College of William and Mary 
  • Raven Ayele, Roosevelt University 
  • Aaruba Ayesha, Boston University 
  • Victoria Bangaree, Hofstra University
  • Natalie Bartlett, Jacksonville University
  • Mariana Boden, Seattle University
  • Karla Campos, Northwestern University
  • Nadia Chaudhary, Northwestern University
  • Matilda Dada, Antioch University 
  • Jyotsna Dhar, Northwestern University 
  • Keyonte Easter, Gardner-Webb University
  • Caitlin Fair, Rider University
  • Kayla Fointno, Oklahoma State University
  • Rachel Jacobs, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke
  • Antonique Jones, North Carolina State University 
  • Rafael Joseph, West Virginia University
  • Allison Joyal, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
  • Keonna Knight, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Shoua Lee, California State University, Fresno 
  • Michelle` Louis-Jean, Roosevelt University
  • Megan Mancini, Portland State University
  • Kim Mena, Liberty University
  • Riley Murphy, Northern Kentucky University
  • Kevin Overton-Hadnot, Seminary of the Southwest
  • Sehar Palla, Johns Hopkins University 
  • Ernesto Pequeño, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Tania Perez, Marymount University
  • Marilyn Quintero, North Dakota State University 
  • Estefani Reyes, Sam Houston State University 
  • Angela Reyes, Portland State University
  • Amaury Rodriguez Penilla, Colorado State University
  • Romina Romero-Hermoso, Antioch University-Seattle
  • Samaria Stovall, Colorado Christian University
  • Shyam Suchak, Spring Arbor University
  • Kyla Thompson, Indiana Wesleyan University
  • La'Porsha Timmons, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor 
  • Laetitia Tokplo, Mercer University
  • Alexandra Vasilou, Northwestern University
  • Jessica White, Regent University
  • Mark Williams, Stetson University 


2022 MFP Addictions Counseling 

  • Laura Adkerson, University of the Cumberlands 
  • Isabel Anderson, Appalachian State University
  • Skye Anfield, Lewis & Clark Graduate School of Education and Counseling
  • Sylvanus Ariole, Metropolitan State University
  • Brian Baldonado, The University of New Mexico
  • Susie Brooks, Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School of Addiction Studies
  • Erin Burgess, Lewis & Clark Graduate School of Education and Counseling
  • Ryan Burwell, University of Colorado - Colorado Springs
  • Danielle Capparelli, Appalachian State University
  • Trevor Carlson, Metropolitan State University
  • Shelton Clark, Kean University
  • Antonio Conway, John Carroll University
  • Andres Correa, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
  • Angela Cupnii, Indiana Wesleyan University
  • William Delgado, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
  • Kala Hall, University of the Cumberlands
  • LaQondra Harding, Purdue University Global 
  • Jazmine Jackson, Bowie State University
  • Josh Krawczyk, Seattle University
  • Lindsey Laube, University of Wisconsin - Stout
  • Elijah Laws, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
  • Kristy Ledford, Liberty University
  • Dasaeb Lopez, St. Edward's University
  • Sandra Lorden, Tarleton State University
  • Loren Manning, Walden University
  • Michael McLean, Liberty University
  • Lillie Mclean, Mercer University
  • Lore McSpadden-Walker, SUNY: The College at Brockport
  • Lupe Meyer, Idaho State University
  • Dakota Milligan, Montana State University
  • James Moore, Metropolitan State University of Denver
  • Carissa Noel, Grand Canyon University
  • Kendra Olson, University of Wisconsin- Stout
  • Robbie Osak, Fresno State
  • Thomas Pitts, Boise State University
  • Lisa Purtue, Mount Mary University
  • DeJaunte Reynolds-Villarreal, Texas A&M University-San Antonio
  • Tammy Rife, University of the Cumberlands
  • Daniela Romero, The Chicago School of Professional Psychology
  • Kourtney Royster, Walden University  
  • Aloki Shah, St. Edward's University 
  • Lindsay Sheek, Appalachian State University
  • Harry Simmons, Capella University
  • Andrea Strempke, University of North Texas
  • Erika Strong, Lewis & Clark Graduate School of Education and Counseling
  • Mary Veronica Sweeney, Kutztown University
  • Tina Tseng, Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School of Addiction Studies 
  • Latara Williams, University of Arkansas at Little Rock 
  • KathyAnn Wilson-Beauford, Grand Canyon University
  • Humayun Zafar, Metropolitan State University 

Read more articles »

Share Article