Foundation Connections

graphical divider

2021 Minority Fellowship Program Awardees Announced

Published 5/18/2021


The NBCC Foundation is pleased to announce the 2021 fellowship recipients for the National Board for Certified Counselors Minority Fellowship Program (MFP). Ninety fellows were selected from over 450 applicants to represent three cohorts of fellows: master’s-level mental health counseling, doctoral-level mental health counseling, and master's-level addictions counseling.   

The goals of the program are to strengthen the infrastructure that engages diverse individuals in counseling and increase the number of professional counselors providing effective, culturally competent services to underserved and never-served populations. Each fellow will receive funds to support their education as well as training, mentorship, and professional development services.   

The NBCC MFP is made possible by a grant awarded to the NBCC Foundation by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and the NBCC Foundation also collaborates with NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, to administer the addictions counseling fellowship program.   

Congratulations to our 2021 MFP Fellows!

2021 MFP Master’s Mental Health Counseling ($10,000 Fellowship) 

  • Mahera Badat, Seattle University 
  • Dorian Banks, Walden University 
  • Shani Banks, George Washington University 
  • Willie Borkai, Rhode Island College 
  • Gary Conachan, Portland State University
  • Ruth Cuevas, College of William & Mary 
  • Kara Erickson, Montana State University - Bozeman 
  • Lauren Flannery, Roosevelt University 
  • Phalguni Freeman, Palo Alto University 
  • Connie Gago, Liberty University 
  • Guillermo GarciaSan Francisco State University 
  • Vera Godoy ReyesUniversity of Colorado Denver 
  • Dominique Harrington, George Washington University 
  • Eliza Jane HarrisAppalachian State University 
  • Teshauna Isaac, Spring Arbor University 
  • Michaela JamesBushnell University 
  • Arrianna KennedyMarquette University 
  • Virginia MooreWalden University 
  • Patricia Nicholson, Portland State University 
  • Corrine NightingalePortland State University 
  • Robert OcampoUniversity of Florida 
  • Ashabi OwagboriayeRoosevelt University 
  • Jennifer Owens, Wilmington University 
  • Alina QuintanaCalifornia State University, Sacramento 
  • Tihira RuffinThe Chicago School for Professional Psychology 
  • Amber SlaughterThe University of Alabama  
  • Carla VargasCalifornia State University Fullerton 
  • Shabiroon VereenWestern Connecticut State University 
  • Lauren WalkerNorthwestern University 
  • Jada Young, Brooklyn College, CUNY

2021 MFP Doctoral Mental Health Counseling ($20,000 Fellowship)

  • Jasmaine AtagaUniversity of Florida 
  • Guy BeauduyMontclair State University 
  • LaTisha BrownNorth Carolina State University 
  • Kervins ClementThe University of North Carolina at Greensboro 
  • Pamela FullertonGovernors State University 
  • Brook FultonGeorge Washington University 
  • Diana GallardoThe Pennsylvania State University 
  • Brittany GloverThe University of North Carolina at Charlotte 
  • Kyesha IsadoreThe Pennsylvania State University 
  • Alice Mills MaiUniversity of the Cumberlands 
  • Claudia NguyenGeorge Washington University 
  • Dhruvi PatelThe University of Texas at San Antonio 
  • Zori PaulUniversity of Missouri–St. Louis 
  • Giscard PetionGeorgia State University 
  • Judith PrestonOld Dominion University 
  • Adrianne RobertsonGeorgia State University 
  • Tobias RobertsonUniversity of Holy Cross 
  • Loretta SanchezUniversity of the Cumberlands 
  • Reyna SmithUniversity of the Cumberlands 
  • Warren WrightSam Houston State University 

2021 MFP Addictions Counseling ($15,000 Fellowship)

  • Riley Anderson, Texas A&M University Corpus Christi 
  • Kathryn Archer, Lipscomb University 
  • Sheila Atwater, Grand Canyon University 
  • Ryan Austin, University of North Georgia 
  • Mariela Castillo Garcia, Metropolitan State University of Denver 
  • Julia Claborn, University of the Cumberlands 
  • N'Dea Coleman, North Carolina Central University 
  • Angelica Crimmins, Lewis & Clark College 
  • Daniel Divine, University of Texas at San Antonio 
  • Velvet Divine, Montclair State University 
  • Desiree Falkowski, Marquette University 
  • Brittany Fields, Xavier University 
  • Kayla Fields, East Carolina University 
  • Hilary Flint, East Carolina University 
  • Erika Franklin, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff 
  • Sophia Gaffney, Seattle University 
  • Elizabeth Haarberg, University of Nebraska-Kearney 
  • Amrita Heer, Seattle University 
  • Raquel Hightower, Capella University 
  • Thanh Hoang, Lewis & Clark College 
  • Tiffnii Hughes, Liberty University 
  • Domonique Kent, Marquette University 
  • Brian Kim, Tarleton State University 
  • Aspen Mares-Toledo, Metropolitan State University of Denver 
  • Eduardo Medina, Jr., Seattle University 
  • Eva Melendez, Indiana Wesleyan University 
  • Ericka Morrison, Western Kentucky University 
  • Ryn Prestia Schear, Lewis & Clark College 
  • Lori Price, University of Phoenix 
  • Marchita Pridget, Coppin State University 
  • Angus Raymond, Adler University 
  • Lina Rios, East Carolina University 
  • Alexis Rutledge, Columbus State University 
  • Ruha Sabeti, Grand Canyon University 
  • Megan Shea, Appalachian State University 
  • Samantha Singh, Lewis & Clark College 
  • Noah Stein, University of Denver 
  • Claire Sutton, Liberty University 
  • Pamela Waters, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff 
  • Alvoid Yokum, Walden University 

Read more articles »

Share Article